BorgWarner: Official Turbocharger Supplier of the IZOD IndyCar® Series

Auburn Hills, Michigan, May 31, 2012 – Marking the beginning of its second century as the “Greatest Race in History,” BorgWarner Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Timothy M. Manganello presented Dario Franchitti with the Borg-Warner Trophy™ following his victory at the 2012 Indianapolis 500. His sterling silver image will be added to the prestigious and historic trophy for the third time. Franchitti joins an elite group of only 10 drivers who have achieved three or more victories at the Indianapolis 500.

“The Borg-Warner Trophy symbolizes a long tradition of achievement, competitive performance and technology leadership at the Indianapolis 500—the same qualities and spirit that drives everyone at BorgWarner,” said Manganello. “This year, we are also very proud to have earned a spot in every car in the field as the exclusive supplier of turbochargers for the IZOD IndyCar Series.”

BorgWarner’s EFR (for “Engineered For Racing”) turbochargers offer an unprecedented combination of advanced technologies designed to boost the performance of down-sized engines while improving fuel economy. Streamlined EFR turbochargers for the IZOD IndyCar Series feature low-weight Gamma-Ti turbine wheels and shaft assemblies for quick boost response. Patent-pending ceramic ball bearings increase thrust capacity and durability while improving turbine efficiency at low expansion ratios. The investment cast stainless steel turbine housing also increases efficiency, improves durability and resists corrosion.

Overlay Title