Louis Schwitzer Award Celebrates 50th Annual Ceremony

Auburn Hills, Michigan, May 20, 2016 – The 50th annual Louis Schwitzer Award has been presented to engineers Tino Belli from INDYCAR, Arron Melvin from Chevrolet, and Alex Timmermans from Dallara for the Rear Beam Wing Flap. The passive safety device normally remains flush with the beam wing of the race car. In the event of a spin, the Rear Beam Wing Flap deploys automatically to increase drag, slow the spin and prevent the car from becoming airborne. Once the airflow is normalized, spring-loaded hinges return the device to the flush position.

“Named after Louis Schwitzer, an automotive pioneer, engineer, professional race car driver and founder of an early BorgWarner business, this award symbolizes the spirit of innovation,” said James R. Verrier, President and Chief Executive Officer, BorgWarner. “Just as the Borg-Warner Trophy™ salutes every winner of the Indianapolis 500, the Louis Schwitzer Award features the names of every one of its winners over the past 50 years. We are proud to sponsor this award and congratulate the engineers who will hold a special place on the trophy during its golden anniversary.”

Presented by engineers to engineers, the Louis Schwitzer Award recognizes individuals for innovation and engineering excellence in racing technology associated with the annual Indianapolis 500. The award memorializes Louis Schwitzer, who won the first auto race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) in 1909 and designed the “Marmon Yellow Jacket” engine that powered the Marmon Wasp to victory at the first Indianapolis 500 in 1911. After working in the automotive industry for many years, Louis founded Schwitzer Corporation, which produced innovative cooling fans, water pumps and turbochargers. Schwitzer Corporation joined BorgWarner in 1999. Throughout his career, Louis achieved numerous technological accomplishments, supported higher education, led the IMS technical committee and maintained a strong association with SAE.

As a global powertrain supplier, BorgWarner continues Louis Schwitzer’s legacy of technology leadership as the official turbocharger supplier of the Verizon IndyCar Series. The engine of every car in the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 will be boosted by BorgWarner’s line of EFR™ (“Engineered For Racing”) turbochargers. Built for reliable and powerful performance, EFR turbochargers feature Gamma TiAl (titanium aluminide) turbine wheels, ceramic ball bearings and stainless steel turbine housings. A $10,000 award is sponsored by BorgWarner and presented to the winning engineer(s) by the Indiana Section of SAE International.

Overlay Title