Borg-Warner Trophy® Presented to 2019 Indianapolis 500 Winner Simon Pagenaud

  • Simon Pagenaud to join the exclusive club of Indianapolis 500 winners immortalized on the Borg-Warner Trophy®
  • Pagenaud will be the 106th face to be affixed to the iconic trophy
  • NTT IndyCar Series® racecars have been exclusively boosted by BorgWarner’s Engineered for Racing (EFR™) turbochargers since 2012

Auburn Hills, Michigan, May 26, 2019 – BorgWarner President and Chief Executive Officer, Frederic Lissalde presented the Borg-Warner Trophy® to the winner of the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500, Simon Pagenaud. The Team Penske driver won the race by 0.2086 seconds. Pagenaud led 116 laps of the 200-lap race, and the win completed a sweep in the month of May for Pagenaud, who won the IndyCar Grand Prix on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course earlier in the month. Pagenaud’s win is the 18th win at the Indianapolis 500 for Team Penske owner Roger Penske.

The sterling silver Borg-Warner Trophy is one of the most recognized trophies in the world and is the symbol of open-wheel racing excellence. It was first presented to Louis Meyer at the 1936 Indianapolis 500. With this win, Pagenaud will be the 106th face added to the iconic trophy after going through a detailed and unique sculpting process.

“BorgWarner is honored to be a part of The Greatest Spectacle in Racing – the Indianapolis 500,” said Lissalde.  “Winning the Indy 500 and being awarded the Borg-Warner Trophy is the ultimate culmination of hard work, dedication and passion – all traits that Simon Pagenaud and Team Penske exhibited today.”

BorgWarner’s involvement in the Indianapolis 500 races goes beyond the coveted trophy. The company’s Engineered for Racing (EFR™) turbochargers – featured on every NTT IndyCar Series® car since 2012 – boosts the field of cars at every race. Assembled at BorgWarner’s Asheville, North Carolina facility, the company’s lineup of EFR turbochargers deliver an unprecedented combination of advanced technologies. BorgWarner’s EFR turbochargers are available through authorized distributors so street and race car enthusiasts can leverage the same powerful performance as the professionals.


BW-00614 2019 Indy 500 winner Simon Pagenaud

The Borg-Warner Trophy® is presented to Simon Pagenaud, winner of the 2019 Indianapolis 500

Overlay Title