Borg-Warner Trophy® and $440,000 Rolling Jackpot Awarded to 2024 Indianapolis 500 Winner Josef Newgarden

  • Josef Newgarden captures back-to-back Indy 500 victories, earning $440,000 rolling jackpot 
  • Newgarden passed Pato O’Ward on the final lap to cross the yard of bricks to win by 0.3417 seconds
  • BorgWarner’s Engineered for Racing (EFR™) turbochargers featured on all NTT INDY CAR SERIES© racecars since 2012

Auburn Hills, Michigan, May 28, 2024 – On Sunday afternoon, following a four-hour rain delay, approximately 300,000 fans cheered as American Josef Newgarden passed Pato O'Ward of Mexico in Turn 3 to secure the lead and win his second consecutive Indianapolis 500. After leading 26 of the 200 laps and averaging 167.763 miles an hour, he was awarded the Borg-Warner Trophy® by BorgWarner President and CEO Frédéric Lissalde. Additionally, Newgarden gave team owner Roger Penske his record-setting 20th win in "The Greatest Spectacle in Racing," dating back to Penske's first win with Mark Donohue in 1972.

“BorgWarner is always excited to be a part of this racing tradition. We’re proud to recognize and celebrate racers from across the globe,” said Lissalde. “We’re honored to present Josef with this trophy for the second year in a row, along with the rolling jackpot prize, highlighting his dedication and commitment to motorsports.”

Newgarden crossed the yard of bricks 0.3417 seconds ahead of O'Ward. 2008 Indy 500 winner Scott Dixon of New Zealand was third and 2016 winner Alexander Rossi from the United States was fourth on an afternoon that saw 49 lead changes amongst 18 drivers.  

To commemorate his 2024 victory, Newgarden’s face will be added to the 5 feet and 4 ¾ inches, 110 pound sterling silver trophy. With his win, Newgarden also claims the BorgWarner $440,000 rolling jackpot cash prize, resetting the pot to $20,000 for the 2025 race. The jackpot has not been claimed in 22 years since Helio Castroneves in 2002, who was also driving for Team Penske at the time. Newgarden is only the sixth driver since the first Indy 500 in 1911 to win back-to-back Indy 500s, other drivers include Wilbur Shaw (1939-1940), Mauri Rose (1947-1948), Bill Vukovich (1953-1954) and Al Unser (1970-1971). 

“There’s no guarantee that you’ll ever be victorious at the Indy 500, because you can’t win without the fastest car and the best team. I’m so grateful this team was able to break through last year and then again this year,” said Newgarden. “Someone had to reset the jackpot, and I’m glad it was my car the number 2 Shell team, because it was a team victory in every way.”

The historic and iconic Borg-Warner Trophy has been presented to each Indy 500 winner for 88 years, first debuted by Eddie Rickenbacker, the previous owner of IMS, in 1936. Commissioned the year prior, the trophy was designed by Robert J. Hill and Spaulding-Gorham, Inc. of Chicago, and continues to serve as a symbol of success in the racing world today.

Beyond presenting the trophy, BorgWarner has a long-established relationship with the Indy 500 race. BorgWarner’s Engineered for Racing (EFR™) turbochargers have powered every NTT INDYCAR SERIES® vehicle since 2012. The EFR turbochargers have the capability to accelerate the vehicles to over 200 mph throughout the race, providing unmatched levels of power and speed.

Overlay Title